Decisions – Decisions – Decisions

Posted: January 23, 2013 in Fatherhood, Just A Thought, Marriage, Standing Strong

Life is full of decisions. That seems like a very obvious statement, I know.  But, have you ever made a bad decision?  Have you ever made a really bad decision?  My guess is that you have, I know I have.

If your current filter for making decisions is ‘how close can I get without getting hurt?’ that doesn’t seem very smart.  Or if your current filter is ‘how close can I get to sin without actually sinning?’ that seems very dangerous.  Unfortunately though, that’s what guys sometimes do.

If you are looking for a couple of filters to help you make decisions I’d like to offer a couple that will help you in my humble opinion. First and foremost is prayer and God’s Word. Are you praying about your circumstances? Are you praying and asking the Holy Spirit to guide you in your decision making process? Are you filtering the decisions of life through scripture? The best way to do that BTW, is to be in God’s Word everyday.

Second, I’d like to recommend a book to you. It’s by Andy Stanley and its called “The Best Question Ever”. Now I’m going to give you the question here but in order to really get the context, I recommend reading the whole book. That’s right boys cover to cover. Here’s the question: “In light of my past experiences, my current responsibilities, and my future hopes and dreams, what is the wise thing for me to do?”

Not that any one book like “The Best Question Ever” alone will make things 100% better, it won’t. We must, you and I, ground our lives and our decisions in God’s Word. However, there are lots of great books out there that can give us some great practical advice for winning some of the battles in life.

Leave a Reply

