Love and Hate

Posted: October 16, 2013 in Check It Out, Just A Thought

It seems like we have always been told how bad it is to hate. However, recently I have seen a different perspective on hate. I have been reading a leadership book by Dr. Henry Cloud called     “9 things a Leader Must Do”. I’m trying to learn to be a better leader.

One of the chapters is called “Earn A Black Belt In Hate” which struck me as odd. Through that thought process and looking into scripture and praying, the Lord has taught me something. In the book Cloud says that we can tell a lot about people in what they love and what they hate. That makes a lot of sense. He also points to the Book of Proverbs and specifically Proverbs 6:16-19 which says; There are six things the Lord hates, seven that are detestable to him: 17 haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, 18 a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil, 19 a false witness who pours out lies and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.

Cloud points out that people who hate things like arrogance, lying, innocent people being hurt, harmful schemes, evil practices and things that stir up dissension would be good people to have around because you can depend on them. Jesus said in Matthew 5:4 Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.” I have a note in my Bible that says ‘mourn over their own sin’. Which is something I and maybe all of us need to look at more closely. How do we view our own sin?

Matthew 22:34-40 is The Greatest Commandment, and Jesus says; “ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

I get that this is a very basic lesson but sometimes we need to be reminded of the basics. Love what is good, what is of the Lord and be about it. Hate what is evil and especially our own sin and flee from it. I don’t know about you but I needed to see that in my life…again.

Comments
  1. Mark says:

    Like St. Francis of Assisi said “LORD, break my hear for what breaks yours”

Leave a Reply

